Skip to content

Conception to Creation

October 25, 2011

To Conceive according to Free Dictionary.com :

1. To become pregnant with –
  • This is the obvious of course – and certainly not something that I have any interest in doing any time soon.  Not literally anyway.  Let’s keep going…
2. To form or develop in the mind; devise: conceive a plan to increase profits.
  • So the plan is to start my own theater company.  There!  I said it… having worked in NY for almost five years directing plays for other people up trees, in bars, parks in August, theaters and lobbies, I have finally decided to grow some balls and start my own theater company -one that can stand alone in the mass of the Downtown scene and Off Broadway being.
3. To apprehend mentally; understand.
  • There is no way that i could have come to this decision fully without the incredible guidance, sarcasm and support of Carl Forsman of Keen Company (http://keencompany.org/blog/index.shtml) with whom I’ve been enjoying my Thursday nights for the past four weeks (at ESPA’s Producing and Directing class).  His insight, experience and again, sarcasm, makes the idea of starting up my own little Theater Company actually possible, and above all – he is a master of confidence building to all of us mini producers sitting in a circle.
  • Apprehending mentally in this case I suppose is the second step after conception – but who am I to argue with FreeDictionary.com
4. To be of the opinion that; think: didn’t conceive such a tragedy could occur.
  • Did I ever think that I would be starting my own theater company?  Well of course, it’s been a dream of mine for many years (I am hesitant to say since I was a child – I wasn’t that forward thinking, more into lolly-pops and Barbie dolls); but did I ever think that I would be writing a blog about it?  No!  In fact, I am sitting here in disbelief of my ego right now, but hey ho – everyone else is doing it right?  I am of the opinion however that writing this blog may give me clarity throughout this process, almost act as my gauge and therapist (because they are damn expensive here in New York), and maybe even help others who are going through these pains of labor – to show where I’ve gone right, and of course where I went wrong (fingers crossed for not too many of those ay!)
5. To begin or originate in a specific way: a political movement conceived in the ferment of the 1960s.
  • And now to begin.  This is indeed the first step.  I have scribbled down my map and it’s time to navigate – without my GPS app it’s a daunting thought, but with great friends, fantastic guidance and lots of love for theater I know I can find the way.

To quote a very handsome man: “To begin at the beginning…”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 4:08 pm

    I am honored to have played a small role at the penultimate moment of this process! I know your theater company is going to be awesome, and I will be there with bells on when the curtain goes up!

  2. November 5, 2011 5:51 pm

    get a Board. that is my big piece of advice.
    my second piece of advice is join ART-NY who offer classes which can help you do the preparation to get your first small grants

    John

Leave a Reply

